Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Green Party of the Philippines to Participate in 2022 Philippine National and Local Elections

David D’Angelo, National President of the GPP Kalikasan Muna (Green Party of the Philippines) and several other local leaders will be running for public office in the 2022 Philippine elections. D’Angelo had filed his Certificate of Candidacy for Senator under the Partido Lakas ng Masa (PLM), a registered political party who is part of the Kalikasan Muna (Nature First) Coalition.

“We are running under PLM because they are the only registered political party who wholeheartedly and holistically supported our green agenda even before we discuss it with them. We are part of the slate of candidates that are both progressive and green and is pursuing the Kalikasan Muna or Nature First agenda,” said D’Angelo.

Declaration of a National Climate Emergency, moratorium on mining, food sovereignty, green education, green communes, and push for renewable energy are some of the key agenda under the platform spearheaded by David D’Angelo in his run for the senate.

David D’Angelo is also a long time youth advocate for the environment dating back 1995.  He has been a member of the Youth for Sustainable Development Assembly, the Asia-Europe Youth Network for Sustainable Development, and Sustainability Watch Network.  Currently he is a member of various organizations including Aksyon Kalikasan (Eco Actions PH), Bayanihan para sa Kalikasan Movement, Inc.; Rotary Club of Alabang Madrigal Business Park, Upper Marikina Watershed Coalition and the Climate Reality Project Philippines.

Among the other members of the slate for Partido Lakas ng Masa were Leody De Guzman for President, Walden Bello for Vice President, labor leader Atty. Luke Espiritu for Senator and fellow environmentalist Roy Cabonegro of Makakalikasan (Nature Party) for Senator.

In the local elections, GPP Kalikasan Muna – Green Party of the Philippines is also fielding local candidates though some of them are independent and running under a different party. The party is still seeking recognition as a National Party and due to the pandemic they were not able to accomplish it on time for the 2022 elections.

Local candidates include among others Roland Carub, Provincial Board Member – Nueva Vizcaya; Ryan Deuz Luzande, Municipal Councilor – Liliw, Laguna;  Meth Jimenez,  Board Member 1st District, Oriental Mindoro; Ruel Quinzon, Board Member 1st District – Oriental Mindoro; Jayson Roy Sibug, City Councilor – Kidapawan City; Pinky Sanque Gahol, Councilor – Victoria Oriental Mindoro; Victor Valenzuela, Councilor – Baco, Oriental Mindoro; Frederick Ortega, Councilor – Victoria, Oriental Mindoro; and Dindo Melaya, Councilor –  Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro.

GPP Kalikasan Muna – Green Party of the Philippines focuses on a 10-Point Green Agenda which can be found on their website at  The party is currently an Associate Member of the Asia Pacific Greens Federation (APGF) and the Global Greens.


Subscribe for APGF News